Do you have a new motorcycle and wonder what the helmet laws are in Florida? Or, maybe you are planning on vacationing in Florida and want to be sure you follow the helmet laws. Either way, we can help you. Here are the facts:
- If you are younger than 21, you are required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle. However, if you are 16 or older and the bike meets specific requirements, you will not be required to wear a helmet. The specifications are below and they essentially outline a moped or scooter that cannot reach more than 30 miles per hour, on level ground.
- Engine displacement is 50 cubic centimeters or less
- Engine is 2 horsepower or less
- If you are older than 21, you are required to have at least $10,000 worth of medical coverage insurance in order to ride a motorcycle without a helmet. This insurance covers medical-related expenses if you are in a motorcycle accident, no matter who is at fault. This insurance will not cover medical costs to others if there is an accident. Those costs will be covered by your bodily injury liability insurance. You need to carry proof of this insurance with you while riding your motorcycle.
- All riders, helmet or no helmet, must have eye protection: goggles, glasses, or a windscreen on the motorcycle.
- The fine for not wearing a helmet is usually small, but if you are stopped then chances are it is for a larger violation. The fine can become much larger and increase your insurance premiums if combined with reckless endangerment or reckless driving.
Regardless of the law, we highly encourage the use of a helmet for all riders and passengers. We see a lot of cases involving motorcycle accidents, and are sensitive to what can happen when proper protection is not implemented. Have fun and ride safe.