Frequently Asked Questions about Workers’ Compensation
The attorneys at DDB Law have been helping the residents of Lakeland get their questions about workers’ compensation answered for more than 20 years.
Here are questions we hear often:
What steps should I take if I am injured at work?
- Get any emergency medical treatment you need.
- Notify your employer that you’ve been injured on the job.
- Seek the council of an experienced attorney to help ensure your insurance claim is handled properly.
How much time do I have to report an accident at work?
It’s best to report an injury as soon as possible. However, Florida law allows you take up to 30 days.
How long do I have to file a workers’ compensation claim in Florida?
Once you’ve reported your injury within the 30-day window, your employer must then report the injury to their insurance company within seven days.
Will I have to pay all of my medical bills?
Section 44.13(14) of the Florida Statue says that any authorized medical bills should be submitted to the employer’s insurance company.
How will I know when I’m ready to go back to work?
The doctor will determine if and when you’re suitable to return to work in your normal role. The doctor may also coordinate with your employer to see if there is a task you can perform that works around your injury, often called modified or light duty work.
Where does the money come from to pay workers’ compensation benefits?
Businesses often have workers’ compensation insurance which functions just like any other insurance. Your company pays a premium and can, in the event of an injury on the job, make a claim on their policy.
Do I have to go to a certain doctor or pharmacist?
Your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier typically chooses the medical provider. However, you do have the right to an IME or independent medical examination in the event of a dispute.
In Florida, you have the right to select your own pharmacy. However, Florida law does not require all pharmacists to accept every employer’s workers’ comp insurance plan, so you may find you’re unable to use the pharmacy you typically use.
Can I get reimbursed for more than just my medical expenses?
Florida law allows for you to receive money for lost wages in some instances, including lost wages of second jobs. You also may be entitled to repayment based on the mileage for transportation to and from doctor visits.
What if I don’t have a car to get to my medical appointments?
The insurance carrier or your employer is responsible for transportation to and from medical appointments for medical care needed because of a workplace injury.
Is making a workers’ compensation claim the same as suing my employer?
No, making a workers’ comp claim is not the same as suing your employer. Businesses are required to have insurance to cover these incidents, which means your claim is not coming out of your employer’s pocket. You’re not hurting your company by seeking workers’ compensation.